Work by 65 Artists Chosen for Toledo Area Artists Exhibition

Posted Jul 18th, 2011 by Kelly Garrow  Category: Arts & Entertainment


TOLEDO, OHIO—The Toledo Museum of Art has announced that work by 65 artists will be seen in the 93rd annual Toledo Area Artists Exhibition later this summer.

The juried show, which offers an eclectic mix of works in a variety of media, is organized by the Museum with support from the Ohio Arts Council. This year’s exhibition, which takes place Aug. 26–Sept. 25 in the Canaday Gallery, also is supported in part by Huntington Bank. Admission to both the exhibition and the Museum is free.

One of the few regional exhibitions of its kind in the nation, it is widely recognized as the most important juried show in the region. Only artists who live in Allen, Defiance, Fulton, Hancock, Henry, Lucas, Ottawa, Paulding, Putnam, Sandusky, Seneca, Van Wert, Williams, Wood and Wyandot counties in Ohio, and Lenawee and Monroe counties in Michigan are eligible to enter.
This year 757 works of art were submitted for consideration. From these, 66 entries were accepted for inclusion.

Exhibition awards, including Best of Show and special prizes sponsored by the Toledo Federation of Art Societies, will be announced during opening ceremonies at 7:30 p.m. Friday, Aug. 26 in the Museum’s Great Gallery.

In addition, for the first time one artist in the show will be invited to have a one-person exhibition at the Museum.

“Part of our mission as a Museum is to support the local arts community. The Toledo Area Artists Exhibition is a way we can help talented artists in our region gain wider exposure and help to launch at least one of them to a larger platform through a solo exhibition,” said Amy Gilman, associate director of the Museum.

Gilman and Toledo Museum of Art Director Brian Kennedy are serving as jurors for this year’s show.

NOTE: The list of artists whose work has been accepted for the 93rd annual Toledo Area Artist Exhibition follows. Names are arranged alphabetically by state and town of residence. For more information or images, contact Teri Sharp, public relations manager at 419-254-5082 or tsharp@toledomuseum.org, or Kelly Fritz Garrow, director of communications, at 419-255-8000, ext. 7408, or kgarrow@toledomuseum.org.

Adrian: Duane Bastian
Belmont: Jacob Pierzchala
Tecumseh: Bonnie Auten

Bowling Green: Nicholas Althoff, Janet Ballweg, Brandon Briggs, Spencer Cunningham, Marcelle Dupay, Anthony Fontana, Ronald Jacomini, Krysta Sa, Nadine Saylor, Louis Staeble and Gary Wittenmeyer.
Findlay: Valerie Escobedo
Gibsonburg: Merv Hall
Louisville: Lauren Bagley
Oak Harbor: Barbara Krupp
Oregon: Amy Beeler
Perrysburg: Michael Basista, Mania Dajnak, Sandra Heard, Thomas Muir, Deborah Rankin and Cheryl Takata
Portage: Camille Isaacs
Rudolph: Randy Bennett
Sherwood: Mike Kozumplik
Sylvania: Seder Burns, Mike Wallace
Toledo: Anne Abate, Leslie Adams, Michael Arrigo, Steven Athanas, Debra Buchanan, Matthew Chambers, Jerod Christy, Nathan Daulbaugh, Patrick Dubreuil, Craig Fisher, Ruth Foote, Timothy Gaewsky, Mary Gaynier, Paul Geiger, Penny Gentieu, Regina Jankowski, Isaac Klunk, Mary Mossing Krueger, Mitch Labuda, Tom Marino, Karen Mathews, Michael McWhorter, Susan Mitchell, Hans Ruebel, Robin Schultes, Kelly Sheehan, Michael Sheets, Jan Thomas, Mary Sue Timar, Stephen Williams, Homer Yarrito and Chelsea Younkman.
Upper Sandusky: Audra Manriquez
Waterville: Samantha Guy (two entries accepted), Joan Rigal

Bookmark and Share

Kelly Garrow - Toledo Museum of Art

kgarrow@toledomuseum.org No Comments »

Leave a Reply