ECHL Announces On-Ice Officials Training Camp

Posted Sep 30th, 2011 by Jason Griffin  Category: Sports


PRINCETON, N.J. – The ECHL announced on Wednesday its annual On-Ice Officials Training Camp will be held Thursday through Saturday in Toledo, Ohio at the Huntington Center and Park Inn Hotel.

The preseason camp will include returning members of the officiating staff, newly-hired referees and linesmen and the ECHL supervisory staff.

The ECHL Officiating Department is managed by Director of Officiating, Joe Ernst and overseen by Vice President of Hockey Operations, Mike Murray. In addition to the on-ice officials the staff includes: Commissioner Emeritus Patrick J. Kelly, and Supervisors Jim Doyle, Mike McDevitt, Jerry Pateman and Mike Pearce.

“The ECHL Officiating Department is pleased with the dedication of our Officials whose preseason preparation and training will carry them into the regular season and through the Kelly Cup Finals,” Ernst said. “We have NHL prospects that are joining and returning to the ECHL Officiating Staff which allows us to have a good mixture of veteran and young officials.
“The officials working in the ECHL receive coaching that is designed to get them to the next level of hockey as evidenced by the number of officials who have moved up to the NHL and AHL. Ghislain Hebert, Francis Charron, Jean Hebert, Matt MacPherson and Graham Skilliter all have been hired by the NHL over the last four seasons and Geno Binda, Tim Mayer, Jarrod Ragusin and Keith Kaval have been hired by the AHL for this upcoming season.”

The officials at the training camp will participate in on-ice instruction, rules tests, team building exercises and video sessions as well as receive a thorough review of the ECHL Rule Book and League directives with an emphasis on Rule Enforcement Standards.

Charlie Banfield, Supervisor of NHL Officials; Rod Pasma, Executive Vice President of Hockey Operations for the American Hockey League; and Toby Oothoudt, Off-Ice Crew Chief for the Toledo Walleye, will address the officials.

Training camp will include officials and League staff dinner on Friday at The Blarney Restaurant located in downtown Toledo.

The ECHL would like to thank the Toledo Walleye Organization, Julie Bolfa of Destination Toledo, Ed Beczynski of The Blarney, and Steve Miller, Scott Fuernstein, Dolly Keyes and Mike McCall of the Huntington Center for making this all possible with their efforts.

There are 22 former ECHL officials scheduled to work as part of the NHL officiating team in 2011-12 with referees David Banfield, Francis Charron, Ghislain Hebert, Jean Hebert, Marc Joannette, Mike Leggo, Wes McCauley, Dean Morton, Dan O’Rourke, Brian Pochmara, Kevin Pollock, Kyle Rehman, Chris Rooney, Justin St. Pierre, Graham Skilliter and Ian Walsh, and linesmen Steve Barton, Bryan Pancich, Brian Mach, Matt MacPherson, Tim Nowak and Jay Sharrers.

Barton, Joannette, McCauley, Nowak, O’Rourke, Pochmara, Pollock, Rooney, Sharrers and Walsh all worked in the 2011 Stanley Cup Playoffs. O’Rourke and Sharrersworked the Conference Finals and Stanley Cup Final. It was the fifth year in a row that Barton, McCauley, Nowak, Pollock and Sharrers have worked the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Bookmark and Share

Jason Griffin - Toledo Walleye No Comments »

Leave a Reply