Walleye and Blackhawks Continue Affiliation

Posted Jul 24th, 2012 by Matt Melzak  Category: Arts & Entertainment, Toledo.com


The Toledo Walleye have renewed its affiliation agreement with the Chicago Blackhawks of the National Hockey League through the 2012-13 season.

“We are thrilled to continue our relationship with the Toledo Walleye,” said Mark Bernard, Chicago Blackhawks General Manager of Minor League Affiliations. “Toledo Walleye President and General Manager Joe Napoli and Head Coach Nick Vitucci do a wonderful job operating the Walleye organization and there isn’t a better place for our young prospects.”

Napoli said, “The Blackhawks organization is committed to helping us produce a strong competitive product on the ice. Mark Bernard and his team understand our challenges and promise to work with us to reach our mutual goals. I look forward to this upcoming season.”

“The Blackhawks assign contracted players to Toledo.” said Vitucci. “We will work together to bring good hockey players to the Walleye organization to continue their development, help us win games, and ultimately see some of these players elevate themselves to the next level.”

The Toledo Walleye became a Chicago affiliate in 2009, their inaugural season. Over the past three years the Blackhawks and its AAA affiliate the Rockford IceHogs of the American Hockey League have sent 25 players to the Walleye. The following Walleye players came through the Chicago organization:
Andy Bohmbach (28 goals, 44 assists, 72 points- a Walleye record for points in a single year)
Christopher Di Domenico (13 goals, 29 assists)
Adam Hobson (44 points in 39 games)
Derek Nesbitt (11 goals, 22 assists)
Maxime Tanguay (25 goals, 50 assists in 72 games)
JC Sawyer (ECHL Defenseman of the Year- w/Walleye 2009-10)
Alec Richards (25 win over 2+ seasons)
The Toledo Walleye will open the 2012-13 regular season on Saturday, October 13 at home against the Kalamazoo Wings. Season tickets are on sale now at 419-725-9255 or online at www.toledowalleye.com.

About the Chicago Blackhawks
The Chicago Blackhawks: Founded in 1926, the Chicago Blackhawks are one of the Original Six teams of the National Hockey League. The Blackhawks have won the Stanley Cup four times in their history (1934, 1938, 1961, and 2010). Chicago is a member of the Western Conference and participated in last season’s Stanley Cup Playoffs finishing the season with a 45-26-11 record. Chicago has seen 39 players that have dressed for the Blackhawks inducted into the Hockey Hall Of Fame. The Blackhawks hosted the 2009 NHL Winter Classic against the Detroit Red Wings at Wrigley Field.

The Rockford IceHogs: Rockford became a member of the American Hockey League in the summer of 2007. The IceHogs also became the top affiliate of the Chicago Blackhawks that same year. Rockford finished last season with a record of 35-32-2-7. Former Walleye forward Peter LeBlanc finished second in scoring last year for the IceHogs with 24 goals and 20 assists.

**The Toledo Walleye play all of their home games at the Huntington Center in downtown Toledo. The Walleye are the proud ECHL affiliate of the Chicago Blackhawks and the Detroit Red Wings.**

Bookmark and Share

Matt Melzak - Toledo Walleye | Toledo, OH

mmelzak@toledowalleye.com No Comments »

Leave a Reply