Ninth Congressional District Invitational Art Exhibition

Posted Mar 6th, 2013 by Ryan Bunch  Category: Arts & Entertainment,


What: Ninth Congressional District Invitational Art Exhibition
Presented by The Arts Commission and Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur

When: Monday, February 25 – Friday, March 29, 2013
Reception: Sunday, March 10, 4 – 6 p.m.

Where: Lobby of Fifth Third Center at One Seagate, Downtown Toledo

Once again, The Arts Commission and Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur will celebrate the creativity and artistic talent of area youth with the Ninth Congressional District Invitational Art Exhibition. Art teachers from high schools within Ohio’s Ninth District are invited to nominate up to three student artworks for display. Artworks are selected to receive awards by a jury composed of art educators, local artists, and representatives from institutions sponsoring awards. The artworks recognized with awards will be unveiled at the Toledo reception on Sunday, March 10, 2013 from 4-6 p.m.

This year’s jurors were Antonio Barrios, Lorain Arts Council, President and Photographer, Dan Hernandez, University of Toledo, Assistant Professor of Art, Interdisciplinary 2-D Studies; Leigh-Ann Pahapill, Bowling Green State University, Assistant Professor of Art, First Year Program; Robert Schira, Lourdes University, Instructor in Art, Painter and owner of For the Love of Art; Sandy Shult, Libbey Inc., Graphic Artist.

The Congressional First Place Award winner will have his or her artwork displayed in the Capitol Building in Washington, D.C. for one year. Those who receive the Congressional Runner-Up Award will have their work displayed throughout the year in Marcy Kaptur’s office. A new component was added to the competition for 2006, which invited students to explore the concepts of “commercial art” and “surface design”. A separate award is given to the artwork deemed most suitable for commercial design application. Employees at Libbey Inc. then produce a short run of Libbey glassware printed with a design derived from the selected artwork. A representative from Libbey Inc. judges this portion of the competition and also hosts a workshop introducing design careers, open to all students participating in the exhibition.

Other awards for this year’s exhibition have generously been sponsored by: Bowling Green State University School of Art, The University of Toledo Department of Art, Lourdes University Department of Art, The Law Firm of Eastman and Smith, Valko and Associates, Rudolph Libbe Companies Inc. and Dennis Norman and Nicole Brandstrup.

This Exhibition is also made possible through the generous support of: One Seagate, Libbey Inc., GEM Inc., Owens Community College, Scribbled Napkin Designs, Scrap4Art and For the Love of Art.

Fifty –two (52) artworks from students attending nine different local high schools are included in this year’s exhibition, with 26 different artworks receiving awards. The level of the award received will not be unveiled until the award reception on Sunday, March 10th, participating youth artists include: Diana Bibler (Bowsher), Emily Bretzloff-Rohrs (Maumee Valley Country Day), Aisha Buenavista (Waite), Moniecia Caban (Toledo School for the Arts), Lauren Campbell (Toledo School for the Arts), Chelsea Connolly (Bowsher), Erin Curtis (Central Catholic), Kenneth D. Dabbs II (Woodward), Elena Davis (Waite), Mallory Dennis (Central Catholic), Larissa Disher (Bowsher), Drew Fleniken (Toledo School for the Arts), Jamie Forbush (Bowsher), Jasmine Friend (Waite), Mychael Fuller (Margaretta), Mykal Halcomb (Waite), Cassidy Howard (Maumee Valley Country Day), Andrea Jahns (Woodward), Mackenzie James (Margaretta), Katie Killingsworth (Margaretta), Kara Klekamp (Toledo School for the Arts), Veronica Kowalski (Toledo School for the Arts), Masie Kuh (Bay), Payton Lake (Bay), Rachel Marter (Bowsher), Alissa Mauter (School for the Arts), Erika Papuchike (Waite), Grace Parr (Toledo School for the Arts), Emily Pedigo (Rogers), Dan Ping Lin (Rogers) Jasmine Ponce (Bowsher), Courtney Poore (Woodward), Kloe Reddy (Bay), Taylor Roberts (Toledo School for the Arts), Hailey Rollins (Waite), Beth Rosenberg (Waite), Sienna Saldana (Toledo School for the Arts), Bri Saunders (Toledo School for the Arts), Maggie Sprouse (Bowsher), Matt Taylor (Rogers), Katelin Uhinck (Bowsher), Ashley Usher (Rogers), Lukas Vordemann (Rogers), Spencer Walton (School for the Arts), Caleb Willhight (Maumee Valley Country Day), Amber Wodarski (Rogers), Maya Wymer (Bowsher).

The Arts Commission and Congresswoman Marcy Kaptur present the Ninth Congressional District Invitational Art Competition to honor artistic excellence demonstrated by area high school students. Marcy Kaptur has been presenting this opportunity to her district since 1981.

The Arts Commission is the longest standing arts agency in the state of Ohio that develops and promotes the arts in the community, serving Northwest Ohio since 1959. 419-254-ARTS

The Arts Commission receives support from The Ohio Arts Council – a state agency that supports public programs in the arts. Please visit or for more information.

Bookmark and Share

Ryan Bunch - The Arts Commission | Toledo, OH No Comments »

Leave a Reply