Local Jefferson Awards Announces Call For Nominations

Posted Jan 2nd, 2014 by Annie Cieslukowski  Category: Community Interest, Toledo.com


The Jefferson Awards, a prize for community and public service, is accepting nominations for the 2014 prize, announced Joseph H. Zerbey IV, president and general manager of The Blade.
“In the past, we have had an excellent pool of nominations from which to pick our winner,” Mr. Zerbey said. “I am confident we will see an equally outstanding group of nominees this year.”
The Jefferson Awards was founded in 1972 by Jacqueline Kennedy Onassis, Senator Robert Taft Jr. and Sam Beard to serve as an American Nobel prize for community and public service. Past recipients have included former president Jimmy Carter, Oprah Winfrey, Ruth Bader Ginsburg and Senator John Glenn.
?Past local recipients include Clara Schuer, Christa Adams, Sam Szor, Tony Siebenick, Duke Wheeler, Fr. Donald Vettese, and Laneta Goings.
?Nominations are accepted from the public. Advertisements with a nomination form began in The Blade on Sunday, December 22. In addition, the public may make nominations via a Web site, www.toledoblade.com/jeffersonawards. Deadline for nominations is Friday, January 24, 2014.
?Once nominations have closed, all materials will be forwarded to a panel of local judges. This year’s judges include Tom Martin, Florence Buchanan, Thomas Backoff, Judy Seibenick, Ford Weber, Gary Willoughby, and P. Roger Parker, Jr. The judges will choose a number of finalists.
?From these finalists, four local winners will be selected. These winners will be announced at the Jefferson Awards breakfast, to take place March 13, 2014, at The Premier on Heatherdowns Blvd.
The names and nomination packets of these four will be sent to a panel in Washington, D.C. That panel will then select a local winner, who will attend a ceremony there later in the spring.
The Jefferson Awards are sponsored locally by The Blade, WTVG 13abc and Buckeye CableSystem. The award sponsor is Leadership Toledo, and the breakfast sponsors are The Andersons and Waterford Bank.
?Nationally, the Jefferson Awards has media partners in more than 150 communities.

Bookmark and Share

Annie Cieslukowski - The Toledo Blade | Toledo, OH

anniec@toledoblade.com | 419-724-6411 No Comments »

Leave a Reply